Sarah Taylor appointed assistant coach for Abu Dhabi T10 campaign

by | Nov 4, 2021 | 0 comments

ABU DHABI – Former England wicket-keeper batter Sarah Taylor has been named Team Abu Dhabi’s assistant coach for the upcoming Abu Dhabi T10 competition in an historic moment for cricket.

The appointment means that Taylor will become the first female coach in men’s professional franchise cricket when the tournament gets underway on November 19. Widely regarded as one of the best wicket-keepers in the history of the game, Taylor became the first female specialist coach at a men’s county side with Sussex in the United Kingdom. She now builds on that by again treading new ground with Team Abu Dhabi, and Taylor hopes that her involvement with the Abu Dhabi T10 will inspire women and girls all over the world.

“Coming into this franchise world, you get players and coaches coming in from all around the world where it may not necessarily be the norm but I’d love to think that some young girl or some woman watching can see me in the coaching team and realise that’s an opportunity and they can push for it, saying ‘If she can do it, why can’t I?’,” said Taylor.

“I do hope that it becomes a little more normal and I may be the first but I won’t be the last. Coaching is my passion and it’s kind of going down the men’s route, which is really exciting.

“I’ve never had issues in male environments and I enjoy the challenge. You always want to prove that you’re good enough, but that’s the same for any coach going into a new environment.”

Taylor, who won two ICC Women’s World Cups, the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup and represented England 226 times over the course of a stellar playing career, will serve as assistant to Head Coach Paul Farbrace for Team Abu Dhabi, who has also secured the services of former South African all-rounder Lance Klusener. As well as continuing to work with Sussex, Taylor also coaches at Bede’s School in the same county and this summer came out of retirement to feature in The Hundred and the 2021 Women’s Twenty20 Cup in the U.K.

The Abu Dhabi T10’s fifth edition takes place at the UAE’s world-renowned Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium from November 19 to December 4.As well as announcing their coaching structure, Team Abu Dhabi also signed England international Liam Lawrence as their Icon Player, while West Indies legend Chris Gayle was retained.

Team Abu Dhabi squad: Chris Benjamin, Danny Briggs, Ahmed Daniyal, Fidel Edwards, Muhammad Farazuddin, Chris Gayle, Colin Ingram, Marchant de Lange, Liam Livingstone, Obed Mccoy, Rohan Mustafa, Naveen-ul-Haq, Phil Salt, and Paul Stirling

Share this on:


Submit a Comment